Along with the new year comes new minimum wages for several states on January 1, 2021.
As a reminder, when state law differs from federal law, employers must use the one that benefits the employee the most. In this case, the state minimum wages are higher than the $7.25 federal minimum wage; therefore, the state’s wage must be used.
Here are 2021 state wages per hour:
- Alaska: 10.34
- Arizona: $12.15
- Arkansas: $11.00
- California: $14.00 for employers in California with 26 or more employees. $13.00 for employers in California with 25 or fewer employees.
- Colorado: $12.32
- Delaware: $10.25
- Florida: $8.65
- Illinois: $11.00
- Maine: $12.15
- Maryland: $11.75 for employers in Maryland with 15 or more employees. $11.60 for employers in Maryland with 14 or fewer employees.
- Massachusetts: $13.50
- Minnesota: $10.08 for employers in Minnesota with $500,000+ annual gross revenues. $8.21 for employers in Minnesota with less than $500,000 annual gross revenues.
- Missouri: $10.30
- Montana: $8.75
- New Jersey: $12.00 for employers in New Jersey with 6 or more employees. $11.10 for employers in New Jersey with 5 or fewer employees.
- New Mexico: $10.50
- New York: $12.50
- Ohio: $8.80
- Rhode Island: $11.50
- South Dakota: $9.45
- Vermont: $11.75
- Washington: $13.69
As with any other regulation, these wages are subject to last-minute changes. For the latest wages, please visit the Department of Labor online.
Several states have cities, counties, or tribes with differing minimum wages as well, including Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin. As with state minimum wages, the wage which benefits the employee the most must be used.
Nextep experts are here to help! Contact us online or at 888-811-5150.